Ben Sanders

ANZL Member


Ben Sanders was born in Auckland in 1989. Graduating in 2012 with a Bachelor of Engineering, Ben wrote his first novels while studying at university. Since his initial publication when he was twenty, he has been listed for the Ngaio Marsh Award multiple times, won the Bellingham Wallace Emerging Talent Award (2012), the AIMES Arts Award and Sir Peter Blake Trophy (2014).

Ben’s first three novels are set in Auckland, The Fallen (2010), By Any Means (2011), and Only the Dead (2013) and all received both critical and commerical success.  The Fallen was a number one bestseller, named in the NZ Listener top 100 and longlisted for the Ngaio Marsh Award. By Any Means was also a bestseller and a finalist for the Nagio Marsh Award. Ben’s US debut, American Blood, the first in a new series set in America and featuring ex-NYPD officer Marshall Grade, was published in 2015. It has been sold for publication and translation in Germany, Russia and Japan, and optioned for film.

Ben’s latest novel The Devils You Know, through Allen & Unwin, was published in February 2021. His new novel Sometimes at Night is the third instalment in the Marshall Grade series and is due out in early 2022. He is currently working on a stand alone novel, to be released in 2023.



Ben’s website

New Zealand Society of Authors writer page


Stuff Q & A: ‘How I write’ (Jan, 2021)

Crimewatch review of American Blood (Nov, 2015)

NZ Herald interview (2011)

New releases by Ben Sanders

The Devils You Know (fiction)

Published by Allen & Unwin on February 2, 2021

Bibliography: Ben Sanders



The Devils You Know (Allen & Unwin, 2021)

The Stakes (Allen & Unwin, 2018)

Marshall’s Law (Allen & Unwin, 2017)

American Blood (Allen & Unwin, 2015)

Only the Dead (HarperCollins, 2013)

By Any Means (HarperCollins, 2011)

The Fallen (HarperCollins, 2010)

'I want you to think about what you would like to see at the heart of your national literature ' - Tina Makereti

Read more