Greg McGee

ANZL Member

Photo credit: Jim Tannock

Greg McGee’s first play, Foreskin’s Lament (1981), is one of New Zealand’s most successful and drew on rugby culture of the time to comment on national values. As crime writer Alix Bosco, Greg is the author of the novel Cut and Run (2009), winner of the 2010 Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime, and Slaughter Falls (2010). He has won several TV awards, including Best Drama Writer for two of his political documentary dramas: Erebus: the Aftermath (1987), and Fallout (1994).

In 2012 he produced two new books: a biography of All Black Captain Ritchie McCaw and a novel, Love & Money. He was awarded the prestigious Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship (2013) where he wrote The Antipodeans (Upstart, 2015) which was longlisted for the 2016 Ockham Award for fiction.



Read NZ Te Pou Muramura writer page

Penguin Books author page

Upstart Press author page


NZ OnScreen biography (includes plays/films)

Playmarket playwright page  (with links to plays)

Radio New Zealand review of The Antipodeans (Aug, 2015)

BookNotes Unbound interview (July, 2015)

Radio New Zealand interview regarding The Antipodeans (July, 2015)

NZ Herald review of The Antipodeans (July, 2015)

Radio New Zealand interview regarding Love and Money (March, 2012)

NZ Herald interview (Oct, 2012)

Sunday Star Times interview  regarding Alix Bosco (Aug, 2011)

Bibliography: Greg McGee


As Greg McGee:

Necessary Secrets (Upstart, 2019)

The Antipodeans (Upstart, 2015)

Brokenwood Mysteries, 2014.

Love and Money (Penguin Random House, 2012)

Me & Robert McKee (Playpress, 2011)


As Alix Bosco:

Slaughter Falls (crime novel, Penguin, 2010)

Cut and Run (crime novel, Penguin, 2009)


Creative Nonfiction

Tall Tales (Some True): memoirs of an unlikely writer (Penguin Random House, 2008)

'Character to some extent is much a construction of the reader as it is of the writer.' - Lloyd Jones

Read more