Jenny Pattrick

ANZL Member

Wellington writer Jenny Pattrick, is an acclaimed historical novelist. Her books The Denniston Rose (2003) and its sequel, Heart of Coal (2004), are among New Zealand’s biggest-selling novels and have been republished in illustrated editions. Jenny has also written fiction and commentary for radio, and with her musician husband, musical shows for children which are performed throughout New Zealand and abroad. She has been awarded the OBE for services to the arts and is featured in the Wellington Girls’ College Hall of Fame. In 2009, she was awarded the prestigious New Zealand Post Katherine Mansfield Fellowship. Carole Beu from the Women’s Bookshop, Auckland wrote in the NZ Listener: ‘Jenny Pattrick is in a category of her own: she is a fine writer but also popular’.

A celebrated story-teller, all of Jenny’s adult titles have been number one bestsellers in New Zealand. Her works include Landings (Penguin, 2012), and Inheritance (Penguin, 2010), (both number one bestsellers), as well as Heartland (2014), Skylark (2012), In Touch with Grace (2006), and Catching the Current (2005).

A former jeweller and teacher, Jenny is an active member of New Zealand’s arts community. She has been President of the Crafts Council of New Zealand, chaired the Arts Council of New Zealand, the Boards of Toi Whakaari: New Zealand Drama School, the New Zealand School of Dance, and the New Zealand Festival of the Arts Writers and Readers Committee. Until recently, she served on the board of the New Zealand Book Council.

Her latest work, Harbouring (RHNZ Black Swan, 2022) is set in New Zealand and Wales in 1839, and explores changes and tension in a distant land, a new life, and an escape from the past.



Jenny Pattrick’s website

Read NZ Te Pou Muramura writer page

Penguin Random House Books author page

100% Pure NZ Denniston Literary trail

Denniston Experience website


New releases by Jenny Pattrick

Harbouring (fiction)

Published by RHNZ Black Swan on March 29, 2022

Bibliography: Jenny Pattrick



Harbouring (RHNZ Black Swan, 2022)

Leap of Faith (RHNZ Black Swan, 2017)

Heartland (RHNZ Black Swan, 2014)

Skylark (RHNZ Black Swan, 2012)

Inheritance (RHNZ Black Swan, 2010)

Grace Notes (RHNZ Black Swan, 2009)

Landings (RHNZ Black Swan, 2008)

In Touch with Grace (RHNZ Black Swan, 2006)

The Illustrated Denniston Rose and Heart of Coal ([full text plus over 200 photographs and other images], RHNZ Black Swan, 2006)

Catching the Current (RHNZ Black Swan, 2005)

Heart of Coal (RHNZ Black Swan, 2004)

The Denniston Rose (RHNZ Black Swan, 2003)

'One of writing’s greatest magics is to allow us – to use Kiri Piahana-Wong’s phrase – to slide outside the trap of time.' - David Taylor

Read more