Tina Shaw

ANZL Member

Tina Shaw has written six novels, numerous non-fiction books and short stories, as well as fiction for young adults and children. Her fiction often draws on small town locations, and explores the darker side of the New Zealand landscape.

Tina’s work has been published in a multitude of magazines and anthologies. She was finalist in the LIANZA Children’s Book Awards (2010), runner-up in the Sunday Star Times Short Story Competition (2003), and received the Creative New Zealand Berlin Writer’s Residency (2001). She was also the Buddle Finlay Sargeson Fellow (1999), and Writer-in-Residence at the University of Waikato (2003). Her novel, The Children’s Pond (2014), was shortlisted for the 2015 Ngaio Marsh Award for Crime Writing.

Tina has appeared as panellist, guest speaker and chair at numerous national festivals and literary events and was a judge for the 2012 National Flash Fiction Day competition. She has worked in various roles such as photographer, gardener, book reviewer, adult literacy tutoring, tutor of creative writing, and manuscript assessment.

Her latest work for general readership is Ephemera – a novel set against the background of a worldwide collapse.



Tina Shaw’s website

Read NZ Te Pou Muramura writer page

New Zealand Society of Authors writer page

Random House Books author page

An extract from Ephemera on Newsroom (March, 2020)

Youtube: Tina Shaw reads from Ephemera (March, 2020)

Landfall review of The Children’s Pond by David Herkt (1 May 2015)

Radio New Zealand interview with Justin Gregory, Standing Room Only (20 July, 2014)

NZ Herald article, The Children’s Pond (12 July, 2014)

New releases by Tina Shaw

Ephemera (novel)

Published by Cloud Ink Press on April 1, 2020

Bibliography: Tina Shaw



Ephemera (Cloud Ink Press, 2020)

Ursa (Walker Books, 2019)

Make a Hard Fist (One Tree House, 2018)

The Children’s Pond (Pointer Press Ltd, 2014)

The Black Madonna (Penguin, 2005)

Paradise (Penguin, 2002)

City of Reeds (Penguin, 2000)

Dreams of America (David Ling Publishing, 1997)

Birdie (David Ling Publishing, 1996)

Junior & YA fiction:

The Stick Insect, Banana Cake and The Fishing Trip (Sail series: Pearson Education, 2011)

The Cloud Rider (Pearson Education, 2010)

About Griffen’s Heart (Longacre Press, 2009)

Petronas (Pearson Education, 2009)

My Name is Joad (Pearson Education, 2009)

Koevasi (Pearson Education, 2008)

Dogs of the Hinterland (Pearson Education, 2008)

Into The Hinterland (Pearson Education, 2008)

Brenda’s Planetary Holiday (Kiwi Bites: Penguin, 2006)

Fluff Helps Out (Kiwi Bites: Penguin, 2006)


Creative Nonfiction

Sheila: Winning Spirit  (As ghostwriter, an ‘autobiography’ of New Zealand horse trainer, Sheila Laxon: Penguin, 2003)



Myth of the 21st Century (with co-editor Jack Ross: Reed Publishing, 2006)

A Passion for Travel (Tandem Press, 1998)



'...we were there as faith-based writers, as believers in the mana of Oceania...' - David Eggleton

Read more