Congratulations ANZL member Jenny Bornholdt who has been honoured with the 2020 Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement ­in Poetry alongside Sir Tīmoti Kāretu (Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement ­in Non-fiction) and Tessa Duder (Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement ­in Fiction). The Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement were established in 2003. Every year New Zealanders are invited to nominate their choice of a New Zealand writer who has made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the genres of non-fiction, poetry and fiction. This year each recipient will be awarded $60,000 in recognition of their outstanding contribution to New Zealand literature. For the Creative New Zealand full announcement see here.

'One of writing’s greatest magics is to allow us – to use Kiri Piahana-Wong’s phrase – to slide outside the trap of time.' - David Taylor

Read more