Congratulations to the recipients of the 2022 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement!
POETRY : James Norcliffe – award-winning poet, editor and writer of young adult fiction.
FICTION: Stephanie Johnson – award winning novelist, short-story writer, playwright and writing teacher.
NON-FICTION: Vincent O’Malley – historian, founding partner of HistoryWorks, and 2022 Ockham NZ book award winner.
Each writer will each receive $60,000 in recognition of their significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the areas of fiction, poetry and non-fiction. The three winners will be honoured at a special lunch hosted by the Prime Minister in March 2023. Members of the public will also get the chance to enjoy readings and discussions from the winners in a separate online event in February. Read more about the awards and winners here.


‘Inspiration is the name for a privileged kind of listening’ - David Howard

Read more