Selected Poems (Victoria University Press, 2021)

Winter Eyes (Victoria University Press, 2018)

Half Dark (Victoria University Press, 2015)

Just Then (Victoria University Press, 2012)

Your Secret Life (HeadworX Publishers, 2005)

Plunge (Pemmican Press, 2001)

13 Ways (Pemmican Press, 1997)

Nothing to Declare: Selected Writings 1977–1997 (HeadworX Publishers, 1998)

How Things Are (with Adrienne Jansen, Meg Campbell and J.C. Sturm, Whitireia Publishing, 1996)

A Brief History of New Zealand Literature (Fawthorpe Garlick, 1996)

Coming Here (Nagare Press, 1989)

Coming Under Scrutiny (Original Books, 1989)



People Like Us: Sketches of Hong Kong (Eurasia Publishing Corp., Hong Kong, 1977)


Creative Nonfiction

99 Ways into New Zealand Poetry (Random House/Vintage, 2010)

How to Catch a Cricket Match (Awa Press, 2006)

How to Live Elsewhere (Four Winds Press, 2004)



Essential New Zealand Poems: Facing the Empty Page ([with Siobhan Harvey and James Norcliffe] Godwit, 2014)

Running Writing Robinson ([Festschrift for Professor Roger Robinson], with David Carnegie, Paul Millar, David Norton, Victoria University Press, 2011)

The Awa Book of New Zealand Sports Writing (Awa Press, 2010)

Spirit Abroad: A Second Selection of New Zealand Spiritual Verse (with Mike Grimshaw and Paul Morris, Random House/Godwit, 2004)

The Long Trail: Selected Poems, Rudyard Kipling (Carcanet, Manchester, UK, 2004)

Spirit in a Strange Land: A Selection of New Zealand Spiritual Verse (with Mike Grimshaw and Paul Morris, Random House/Godwit, 2002)

How You Doing?: A Selection of New Zealand Comic and Satiric Verse (with Hugh Roberts, Lincoln University Press/Daphne Brasell Associates Press/Whitireia Publishing, 1998)

Under Review: A Selection from New Zealand Books 1991–1996 (with Bill Sewell and Lauris Edmond, Lincoln University Press/Daphne Brasell Associates Press, 1997)

Worlds of Katherine Mansfield (Nagare Press, 1991; 1992 2nd edition)

Talking About Ourselves: Twelve New Zealand Poets in Conversation with Harry Ricketts (Mallinson Rendel, 1986)

One Lady at Wairakei (Rudyard Kipling, Mallinson Rendel, 1983)

'Novels stand outside time, with their narrative structure of beginning, middle and end. They outlast politics, which are by nature ephemeral, swift and changeable and can quickly become invisible, detectable only to the skilled eye. ' - Fiona Farrell

Read more