The Severed Land (YA: Puffin, Feb 2017)

The Limping Man (Puffin, 2010)

Access Road (Penguin, 2009)

Gool (Puffin, 2008)

Salt (Puffin, 2007)

Blindsight: A Novel (Penguin, 2005)

The Scornful Moon (Penguin, 2003)

Ellie and the Shadow Man (Penguin, 2001)

Hostel Girl (Puffin, 1999)

Live Bodies (Penguin, 1998)

Orchard Street (Viking, 1998)

Loving Ways (Penguin, 1996)

Plumb Trilogy (Penguin, 1995)

Crime Story (Penguin, 1994)

The Fat Man (Viking, 1994)

Going West (Viking, 1992)

The Burning Boy (Faber, 1990)

The Champion (Puffin, 1989)

Prowlers (Viking, 1987)

Collected Stories (Short stories: Penguin, 1986)

The Fire Raiser (Puffin Books; Oxford UP, 1986)

Motherstone (Oxford UP, 1985)

The Priests of Ferris (Oxford UP, 1984)

Sole Survivor (Faber, 1983)

The Halfmen of O (Oxford UP, 1982)

Meg (Faber, 1981)

The World Around the Corner (Oxford UP, 1980)

Under the Mountain (Oxford UP, 1979)

Plumb (Faber, 1978)

Games of Choice (Faber, 1976)

A Glorious Morning, Comrade (Short stories: Auckland UP, 1975)

In My Father’s Den (Faber, 1972)

A Special Flower (Hutchinson, 1965)

The Big Season (Hutchinson, 1962)


Creative Nonfiction

Memory Pieces (Victoria UP, 2018)

Creeks and Kitchens (BWB Texts, 2013)

As Fair as New Zealand to Me: New Zealand writers in Katherine Mansfields Menton (Victoria UP, 2000)

Writing Wellington: 20 Years of Victoria University Writing Fellows (Victoria UP, 1999)



Essential New Zealand Short Stories (ed. Bill Sewell: Random House, 2009)

Some Other Country: New Zealand’s Best Short Stories (ed. Marion McLeod: Victoria UP, 2008)

Auckland: The City in Literature (Exisle Publishing, 2003)

Morrieson’s Motel (Tandem Press, 2000)

Short Stories 1 (New Authors, 1963)


'...we were there as faith-based writers, as believers in the mana of Oceania...' - David Eggleton

Read more