The White Clock (Otago UP, 2014)

Sleepwalking in Antarctica & Other Poems (Canterbury UP, 2010)

Occasional: Fifty Poems (Hazard Press, 2004)



Return to Harikoa Bay (Short stories: RHNZ Vintage, 2022)

The Author’s Cut (Short stories: RHNZ Vinatge, 2021)

Pearly Gates (Novel:Vintage, Random House, 2019)

Love as a Stranger (Novel: Vintage; Random House, 2016)

Carnival Sky (Novel: Vintage; Random House, 2014)

The Larnachs (Novel: Random House, 2011)

Living as a Moon (Short stories: Vintage; Random House, 2009)

Owen Marshall: Selected stories (ed. Vincent O’Sullivan: Vintage; Random House, 2008)

Drybread (Novel: Random House, 2007)

Watch of Gryphons & Other Stories (Short stories: Vintage; Random House, 2005)

When Gravity Snaps (Short stories: Vintage; Random House, 2002)

Harlequin Rex (Novel: Vintage; Random House, 1999)

The Best of Owen Marshall’s Short Stories (Short stories: Random House, 1997)

A Many Coated Man (Novel: Longacre Press, 1995)

Coming Home in the Dark (Short stories: Vintage; Random House, 1995)

The Ace of Diamonds Gang & Other Stories (Short stories: McIndoe, 1993)

Tomorrow We Save the Orphans (Short stories: McIndoe, 1992)

The Divided World: Selected Stories (Short stories: McIndoe, 1989)

The Lynx Hunter & Other Stories (Short stories: McIndoe, 1987)

The Day Hemingway Died & Other Stories (Short stories: McIndoe, 1984)

The Master of Big Jingles & Other Stories (Short stories: McIndoe, 1982)

Supper Waltz Wilson & Other New Zealand Stories (Short stories: Pegasus Press, 1979)


Creative Nonfiction

As Fair As New Zealand To Me: New Zealand Writers in Katherine Mansfield’s Menton (Victoria UP, 2000)



Some Other Country: New Zealand’s Best Short Stories (ed. Bill Manhire: Victoria UP, 2008)

The New Zealand Book of the Beach 2 (David Ling Publishing, 2008)

The New Zealand Book of the Beach (David Ling Publishing, 2007)

Small Packages (Longman, 2000)

Morrieson’s Motel (Tandem Press, 2000)

The Flamingo Anthology of New Zealand Short Stories (ed. Michael Morrissey: Flamingo, 2000)

Out of Town: Writing from the New Zealand Countryside (Shoal Bay Press, 1999)

Letter from Heaven (Longman Paul, 1995)

6 Otago Writers: Stories & Poetry (Aspiring, 1994)

The Good Tourist and the Laughing Cadaver: Travel Stories from Australian & New Zealand writers (Vintage, 1993)



The Best New Zealand Fiction: Volume 6 (Vintage, 2009)

The Best New Zealand Fiction: Volume 5 (Vintage, 2008)

Sunday 22 (Vintage; Random House, 2006)

Essential New Zealand Short Stories (Random House, 2002; New enlarged edition, 2009)

Spinning a Line: New Zealand Writing about Fishing (Vintage, 2001)

Authors’ Choice: Leading New Zealand Writers Choose Their Best Stories … and Explain Why (Penguin, 2001)

Beethoven’s Ears: Eighteen New Zealand Short Stories (Longman Paul, 1996)

Letter From Heaven: Sixteen New Zealand Poets (Longman Paul, 1995)

Burning Boats: Seventeen New Zealand Short Stories (Longman Paul, 1994)

'I started to feel very guilty, as though I’d perpetrated a crime, a rort' - Stephanie Johnson

Read more