Things OK with you? (Victoria UP, 2021)

And So It Is (Victoria UP, 2016)

Being Here: Selected Poems (Victoria UP, 2015)

Us, Then (Victoria UP, 2013)

The Movie May Be Slightly Different (Victoria UP, 2011)

Further Convictions Pending: Poems 1998-2008 (Victoria UP, 2009)

Blame Vermeer (Victoria UP, 2007)

Homecoming (Victoria UP, 2004)

Nice Morning for it, Adam (Victoria UP, 2004)

On Longing (Four Winds Press, 2002)

Lucky Table (Victoria UP, 2001)

I’ll Tell You This Much (Pemmican Press, 2000)

Seeing You Asked (Victoria UP, 1999)

Selected Poems (Oxford UP, 1992)

The Pilate Tapes (Oxford UP, 1986)

The Rose Ballroom and Other Poems (McIndoe, 1982)

The Butcher Papers (Oxford UP, 1982)

Brother Jonathan, Brother Kafka (Oxford UP, 1979)

Butcher & Co. (Oxford UP, 1977)

From the Indian Funeral (McIndoe, 1976)

Bearings (Oxford UP, 1973)

Revenants (Prometheus Books, 1969)

Our Burning Time (Prometheus Books, 1965)



Mary’s Boy, Jean-Jacques and other stories (Short stories: Te Herenga Waka University Press, 2022)

All This by Chance (Novel: Victoria UP, 2018)

The Families (Short stories: Victoria UP, 2014)

Pictures by Goya and Other Stories (Short stories: Penguin, 2006)

Believers to the Bright Coast (Novel: Penguin, 2001)

Let the River Stand (Novel: Random House, 1993)

Palms and Minarets: Selected Stories (Short stories: Victoria UP, 1992)

The Snow in Spain: Short Stories (Short stories: Allen & Unwin, 1990)

Survivals and Other Stories (Short stories: HarperCollins, 1985)

Dandy Edison for Lunch and Other Stories (Short stories: McIndoe, 1981)

The Boy, The Bridge, The River (Short stories: McIndoe, 1978)

Miracle: A Romance (Novel: McIndoe, 1976)


Creative Nonfiction

The Dark is Light Enough: Ralph Hotere – a biographical portrait (PRH, 2020)



An Anthology of New Zealand Poetry in English (ed. Jenny Bornholdt, Gregory O’Brien & Mark Williams: Oxford UP, 1997)

The Oxford book of Contemporary New Zealand Poetry (ed. Fleur Adcock: Oxford UP, 1982)



The Collected Letters of Katherine Mansfield (with Margaret Scott: Oxford UP, 1996)

The Oxford Book of New Zealand Short Stories (Oxford UP, 1992)

Katherine Mansfield: Selected Letters (Oxford UP, 1989)

Poems of Katherine Mansfield (Oxford UP, 1988)

Collected Poems: Ursula Bethell (Victoria UP, 1985)

An Anthology of New Zealand Writing Since 1945 (with MacDonald P. Jackson: Oxford UP, 1983)

Mansfield’s ‘The Aloe’ with ‘Prelude’ (Port Nicholson’s Press, 1982)

New Zealand Short Stories: Third Series (Oxford UP, 1975)

An Anthology of Twentieth-Century New Zealand Poetry (Oxford UP, 1970; revised 1976 & 1987)


'Character to some extent is much a construction of the reader as it is of the writer.' - Lloyd Jones

Read more